Classwork

1.When I was a little boy I had a passion for maps. I looked for hours at South America or Africa and lost myself in the glories of exploration. At that time there were many blank spaces on the earth, and when I saw one that looked particularly inviting on a map I would put my finger on it and say,
“When I grow up, I will go there.”

2.One of the greatest advances in modern technology has been the invention of
computers. They help us, fascinate us and occasionally scare us. The latest fear concernes children and computers. Some experts claim that brothers and
sisters are starting to play more with computers than with one another.

3.The giant panda is probably the most valuable and popular zoo animal. They live in the mountains of Western China. About 1000 giant pandas still survive in the wild, but only few were ever seen alive outside China. In 1961 it was adopted as the symbol of the World Wildlife Fund and the panda has become a familiar sight on T-shirts, badges and car stickers since then.

4. According to tradition, the first American Thanksgiving was celebrated in 1621 by
the English Pilgrims who had founded the Plymouth Colony. The Pilgrims
marked the occasion by feasting with their Native American guests who brought gifts of food as a gesture of goodwill.

Dear Sir,
I am writing to complain about the service I received when I was staying at
your hotel last week. Your receptionist was extremely rude. Also I had some
problems with my room.
It faced the main road and was cold and extremely noisy. When I arrived at the
restaurant at half past ten I was told that I wouldn’t be able to have breakfast.
Expect to hear from you by return, telling me what you intened to do to
compensate me for a thoroughly unpleasant week at your hotel.
Yours,
John Smith.

6. Steve, do you see the young man standing at the cash desk? He works as an assistant in the same shop as I do. Well, I saw him the other day and he was driving a big black Mercedes. And do you see the expensive clothes he is wearing? A month ago he didn’t have a penny. I told you about the burglary that we had at the shop last Monday, didn‟t I? Do you think I should go to the police?

7. Imust have fallen asleep while I was working because it took me a long time to
realize that the telephone was ringing. It was Sarah, my girl-friend. She said,
“Don‟t you remember that we are going to the cinema tonight?”
I suddenly remembered that she has been given some tickets for the first
performance of a new film. I said, “By the time I get there, the film will have started. Let‟s go out to dinner instead.” “You are a nuisance,” she said, “I
needn‟t have accepted the tickets.”

8. Two George Washington Bridge security guards, photographed sleeping on the job, have been fired according to the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey.
A bicycle tour operator who was commuted daily over the bridge from New
Jersey to New York snapped photos of the two guards on different occasions, and
the photos were published on a New Jersey local news Web site.

9. I could never have guessed what has happened that winter evening, two years
ago. Outside it was snowing heavily and the house was cold. I was alone and
I wad being watched TV all evening, when the doorbell rang.

10. A lady arrived late at the concert and the man at the door didn’t let her in.
“I shall not discrub anybody. I‟ll stand in the back and nobody will noticemy coming in,” she asked the man. “I especially want to hear the
symphony of the young composer. Just open the door.”
“ That‟s the trouble, madam,” said the man. “If I open the door, half the
audience will run out.”

Թողնել մեկնաբանություն